Difference between revisions of "GATHERINGS"

From 1st Presbyterian Church of Second Life
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 6: Line 6:
  
 
====Weekly Conversation Group====
 
====Weekly Conversation Group====
*Thursday nights @ 7:30pm SLT (7:30pm Pacific / 8:30pm Mountain / 9:30pm Central / 10:30pm Eastern)
+
*Tuesday nights @ 6:00pm SLT (6:00pm Pacific / 7:00pm Mountain / 8:00pm Central / 9:00pm Eastern)
 
*Approx 1 hour, although in the past, discussion has continued into 2 hours (leave when you have to).
 
*Approx 1 hour, although in the past, discussion has continued into 2 hours (leave when you have to).
 
*Unstructured Leadership -- come with something to talk about, and we'll follow the Spirit's lead.
 
*Unstructured Leadership -- come with something to talk about, and we'll follow the Spirit's lead.

Latest revision as of 19:55, 23 November 2014

Weekly Prayer Service

  • Sundays @ 6pm SLT (6pm Pacific / 7pm Mountain / 8pm Central / 9pm Eastern)
  • Approx. 45 minutes, followed by fellowship and conversation in the skybox for anyone who can stay longer.
  • Format based on the Book of Common Worship, and occasionally with elements from Taize.
  • This group will more fully explore developing a full-fledged worship service in Second Life.

Weekly Conversation Group

  • Tuesday nights @ 6:00pm SLT (6:00pm Pacific / 7:00pm Mountain / 8:00pm Central / 9:00pm Eastern)
  • Approx 1 hour, although in the past, discussion has continued into 2 hours (leave when you have to).
  • Unstructured Leadership -- come with something to talk about, and we'll follow the Spirit's lead.
  • This group will more fully explore our call to service, evangelism, and education.
  • Meets at the church, but occasionally we take spontaneous field trips to interesting places.
  • Once each month, we meet at our sister ministry, Within the Vine, for "Reformed Heritage" night.
  • In either of the above to cases (when we go elsewhere) we'll leave a sign in front of our building with a link to our location.

Monthly SL Orientation Class

  • Meets Saturdays on an "as needed" basis to teach basics of Second Life: getting around, clothes, finding things, etc.
  • Leadership (from our SL veterans) varies from month to month, and so the time will, too -- but will always be advertised.
  • Field trips are part of the class, but we will generally start out at the 1PCSL Meeting House on Xenia to cover a few basics with those who are really new.

Other Gatherings

  • Members of our community are encouraged to support and participate whenever possible in the gatherings of our Sister Ministries in Second Life:
  • Church of the Dawntreader meets for worship Tuesday nights at 7pm SLT
  • Koinonia meets for worship Wednesday nights at 6pm SLT
  • Within the Vine Hosts ecumenical conversation with various SL religious communities Wednesday nights at 7pm SLT